Blueline Jobs


NCA head and West Midlands chief among policing honours

Officers across the ranks have had their dedication and service recognised in the traditional New Year?s Honours. The head of the National Crime Agency and a police cadet leader are among 49 to get medals.
Published - 30/12/2020 By - Chris Smith

Police leaders were are among those to receive honours including the head of main agency coordinating action against County Lines gangs as well as the chief of the country’s second-biggest force.

The 2021 list includes a total of 49 police personnel honoured for their extraordinary contributions to policing. 

The National Crime Agency Director General Lynne Owens is made a Companion of Honour.

West Midlands Police Chief Constable Dave Thompson has been awarded a knighthood for services to policing.

Adrian Hanstock, the Deputy Chief Constable of British Transport Police receives the QPM.

Leicestershire Police saw a double award for members of its top team with Jason Masters. Temporary Assistant Chief Constable and Robert Nixon, Deputy Chief Constable both becoming QPM. 

HMI Inspector Wendy Williams becomes a Commander of the Order of the British Empire in recognition of her work on the Windrush Lessons Learned review.

A number of officers received MBEs. They are:

Malique Al-Shabazz. Constable, Merseyside Police. For services to Policing and Ethnic Minority Communities in Merseyside. (Prenton, Merseyside)

Lee Barnard. Detective Inspector, Metropolitan Police Service. For services to Policing and to Victims of Domestic Abuse.

Pauline Evans. Senior Manager, National Crime Agency. For services to Law Enforcement. 

Katherine Hancock. Special Chief Officer, Warwickshire Police Special Constabulary. For services to Policing. 

Janet Hills. Detective Sergeant, Metropolitan Police Service. For services to Policing and to Community Relations.

Hobibul Hoque. Chief Inspector, Bedfordshire Police. For services to Policing and Community Cohesion..

Gary Neeve. Officer, Border Force, Home Office. For services to Border Security.

Mark Owen. Special Chief Officer, North Wales Police. For services to Policing and to the community in North Wales, particularly during the Covid-19 Response.

Lindy Woodage. Staff Officer, Devon and Cornwall Police. For services to Policing and to Civil Contingency Planning, particularly during the Covid-19 Response. 

Jennifer Brouard. Citizens in Policing Manager, Essex Police. For services to Policing and to the Voluntary Sector. 

Robert Davies. Special Constable, South Wales Police. For voluntary service to Policing.

David Howse. Special Inspector, Suffolk Constabulary. For voluntary service to Policing.

Jacques Oxenham. Inspector, Metropolitan Police Special Constabulary. For services to Policing. 

Helen Ridley. Partnership Officer, Nottinghamshire Police. For services to Policing.

Also awarded an MBE was Simon Lewis, Head of Crisis Response, British Red Cross and former Chief Superintendent, Head of Emergency Preparedness, New Scotland Yard. His award was in recognition of  his services to UK Crisis Response and to Healthcare, particularly during Covid-19.

Police Federation Chair John Apter, said the list was a welcome acknowledgement of the hard work by officers and staff during what has been the toughest year in living memory.

He said: “Police officers do not do what they do for thanks or praise, but to be recognised with an honour from Her Majesty the Queen is the ultimate recognition and I congratulate all who have made this extraordinary achievement.

“2020 has been an exceptionally difficult year for us all. My colleagues have stepped up and done their absolute best in the most challenging of circumstances. There has been little to celebrate this year which is why police officers and police staff being recognised in this way is so welcome.”

The Home Office’s former police staff lead in its Security and Counter Terrori

Visit - the UK's leading independent Policing news website